Honorary members

Honorary members are persons who have a warm heart for our association. In addition, an honorary member is a signboard for our association. Magister JFT currently has two honorary members.


Prof. Dr. Philip Eijlander

Former Rector Magnificus Tilburg University


Prof. Dr. Philip Eijlander (1957) has been named an honorary member in the 2006-2007 association year. He has always been very involved with Magister JFT and is proud of the special structure of the association. Philip Eijlander wanted to be named an honorary member in a personal capacity during his dean, because he considered himself a ‘friend’ or Magister JFT. It is therefore a great honor to be an honorary member of the legal faculty association.

From 2005 to 2008, Mr. Eijlander was Dean of the Faculty of Law at Tilburg University. He studied Public Administration at the University of Twente; he obtained his PhD in 1993 at the then Catholic University of Brabant. He has worked at the Faculty of Public Administration at the University of Twente, the Faculty of Law at Tilburg University, the Ministry of Justice and the Ministry of Social Affairs and Employment.

In addition, he worked as a guest researcher in the fall of 2008 at the Law Center or Georgetown University in Washington DC. From November 2008 to June 2015, Philip Eijlander worked as Rector Magnificus of Tilburg University. He is currently a professor of constitutional and administrative law at Tilburg University.


Corien Prins

Chairman of the Scientific Council for Government Policy

Prof. JEJ Prins (1961) has been a professor at Tilburg Law School since 1994 and from 2013 to 2017 as a dean. 

Corien Prins was appointed honorary member in the 2016-2017 association year. Magister JFT has made great strides in the area or ties with the faculty during years of collaboration. This is definitely partly thanks to Corien, who has always had a warm heart for Magister JFT in her years as a professor and dean at TLS.

Prins studied Slavic Language and Literature (1980-1984) at the University of Leiden (candidate exam) and Law (1983-1986) at the same university (doctoral exam). In 1991 she obtained the PhD with prof.mr. H. Fanken (and co-supervisor Prof. S. Levitsky, Columbia University, New York), on the thesis Computer program protection in the USSR: a new era for socialist copyright law. Since 1 April 2017 she has been working as Chairman of the Scientific Council for Government Policy.